John Rodden (of No Outlet) @ J.D. McGillicuddy’s

April’s been a super busy month for me so far, so I have tons of photos to share.  First and foremost, I’m happy to announce that I have joined the team over at Ear Nuggets as a contributor.  Check it out, especially if you’re looking for new music to listen to this summer.  As a music fan as well as a photographer, I’m excited to watch the project grow.

Now to the photos.  Last weekend I was booked fairly solid, but my buddy John told me he was playing an acoustic set at a nearby pub (J.D. McGillicuddy’s in Wayne, PA if anyone’s interested).  I had Friday night free after work, and rented a Canon EF 50mm ƒ/1.2L from BorrowLenses for the weekend, so I stopped by to hang and shoot a bit.  The 1.2L is a beast in a poorly-lit situation like the front area of a bar with the tables cleared.  Literally, there was only ambient light available and I rarely use flash shooting live music.  I think it kills the mood.  Even at an ISO of 2500, on the APS-C sensor of a Canon 7D I got some pretty awesome shots without having to do some extreme noise reduction.  I changed the autofocus to one zone to ensure there weren’t too many shots with the microphone as the focal point.  It’s no wonder this lens is so damn expensive!

Published by

Conor

Photojournalist based in Philadelphia. Occasional writer. Always wondering what became of Luke Skywalker's X-Wing after he arrived at Cloud City.

Leave a Reply

